Showing posts with label dershane. Show all posts
Showing posts with label dershane. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

KUYUCU MURAT PASHA MADRASA

Vezneciler, Fatih - Istanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°00'41.0"N 28°57'36.0"E / 41.011389, 28.960000

 photo kuyucumurat_madrasa108.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

A small triangular medrese, this elegant little complex was built in 1606 by Kuyucu Murat Paşa, Grand Vezir in the reign of Sultan Ahmet I. The apex of the triangle is formed by the columned sebil, with simple classical lines.

Facing the street is an arcade of shops in the middle of which a doorway leads to the courtyard of the medrese. The classical style Madrasah, L-shaped, with 14 rooms, the madrasah undergone numerous restorations during its history.

Entering, find the tomb of the founder in the acute angle behind the sebil, and at the other end the dershane, which, as so often, served also as a small mosque. The tomb of the Pasha, who died in 1611, is situated next to the madrasah. Also, buried in the tomb, are Abaza Ahmet Pasha (1638) and Cağaloğlu Sinan Paşazade Mehmet Pasha.

This building has been taken over and restored by Istanbul University; the courtyard has been roofed in and used as a small museum, while the dershane contains a library. Kuyucu Murat Pasha Madrasah is today the Faculty of Fine Arts of İstanbul University.

Today, the complex has been absorbed by Istanbul University, its courtyard having been roofed in and used as a museum for the fine arts, while its library remains operational.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : İstanbul Üniversitesi, Güzel Sanatlar Bölümü Başkanlığı

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : iubilgi@istanbul.edu.tr
Phone : +90 212 440 0000
Fax : +90 212 526 0300

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

EKMEKÇİZADE AHMET PAŞA MADRASA

Vefa, Fatih - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°00'53.7"N 28°57'32.0"E / 41.014917, 28.958889

 photo ekmekcizade_madrasa105.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

At the next corner we turn left on Kovacılar Caddesi and immediately on our right we see another ancient Ottoman building. This is the handsome medrese built some time before his death in 1618 by Ekmekçizade Ahmet Paşa, son of an Edirne baker, who rose to the rank of Defterdar (First Lord of the Treasury) and Vezir, and died one of the richest men in the Empire. The architect is considered to have been Sedefkar Mehmet Ağa.

Until a few years ago the medrese was a ruin, inhabited by gypsies, but now it has been partially restored. Those who like variations on a theme will be pleased to note some anomalies :  the right side of the court is occupied by the usual dershane, next to which, however, is a türbe of the same size, making the courtyard a bit lopsided.

Both still preserve remnants of a rather good painted decoration in domes and pendentives, a rich red with deep green meander patterns. The birdhouses, on the madrasah’s walls, are particularly interesting. Even in its half-restored condition this is an interesting monument and well worth a visit.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : İbnü’l Emin Mahmut Kemal İnal Yüksek Tahsil Erkek Talebe Yurdu

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : iyv@iyv.org.tr
Phone : +90 212 511 2290
Fax : +90 212 511 2291

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

SULTANAHMET MADRASA

Sultanahmet, Fatih - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°00'23.5"N 28°58'38.1"E / 41.006528, 28.977250

 photo sultanahmet_madrasa104.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Dar-al hadith madrasah which constitutes a section of Sultanahmet Complex was built around a rectangular shaped courtyard which lies in parallel with the kiblah. The madrasah consists of porticos, cells, classroom and masjid. The entrance of the shrine is connected to the porticos with a gate among the cells. A round-shaped fountain is located in the middle of the rectangular planned madrasah built of face stones.

The madrasah with 24 cells sequenced around the courtyard draws attention with also this feature. There are 12 or 16 cells in the madrasahs of Ottoman architecture in general. There are windows opening towards outside and porticos in most of the cell. The cells in which niches and a furnace are included are covered with small domes up above.

The fact that the classroom which was raised from the ground with three steps used to be utilized as masjid in the past could be understood by the mihrab on kiblah wall. There is a dome with pandantive on the classroom with two-layer windows on its facades.

The madrasa stands on the opposite side of the lane from the mausoleum and the walled-in cemetery. It is composed of twenty-four rooms around a rectangular arcaded courtyard with a fountain at the center. The main entrance, in axis with the fountain, is located at the center of the northwestern wing. Traces of columns around the fountain suggest that it may have been roofed. The madrasa rooms have windows opening to the courtyard and the exterior and are equipped with fireplaces (ocak) and shelving niches.

The main classroom (dersane) is a typically annexed at the northern corner of the cloister rather than on its longitudinal axis. Madrasa functions were discontinued with the education reform law (Tevhid-i Tedrisat Kanunu) in 1924. The building was restored in 1935 and the courtyard was covered with a glass roof to prepare for its new use as an archive for the Directorate of Public Affairs.

The madrasah, which was active until 1924, was repaired in 1935 and its courtyard was covered with a glass roof. The restoration activities on the Madrasah of Sultan Ahmet were commenced in November 2011. Mentioning that the madrasah sets an example since it was covered above in 1935. Another feature of the madrasah is its monolith fountain stone, a single block was carved into a fountain, it keeps its originality and it is the only example in this sense.

In scope of the activities on the dome, the lead tiles were pulled out and the soil underneath was removed. The joints on the dome were replaced. Khorasan mortar was applied on the dome. Wooden girders beneath the lead were pulled out and replaced. Clay and straw plaster was applied on the dome prior to placing lead tiles. Plaster on the chimneys were removed and khorasan mortar was applied following brick corrosion and solidification activities.

The glass roof above the courtyard of the madrasah was removed in compliance with roof static reporting and revised restoration project. Reinforced concrete columns and beams that carry the roof were cut and brought away from the structure. Injection hoses were placed into the cracks detected on the dome and the walls. Cleaning activities were conducted on the marble surfaces. Windows and iron shutters of the cells were removed. The stones which lost quality on the domes and trimmers were corroded.

New stones were placed instead of the corroded ones. Facade was cleaned in compliance with Protection, Implementation and Control Office (KUDEP) report. Recently built marble finials were placed on the dome. The windows of exterior walls were prepared. On the ground survey conducted in the cells of the madrasah’s masjid, original brick flooring was identified. Rasper was applied on the interior walls of the cells. Knotted iron grilles were strengthened. Original ornaments were revealed during the rasper activities conducted in the masjid of the madrasah and the wood floor planking was pulled out.

A heating system was installed without damaging the madrasah. The madrasah will function with the same purpose for which Sultan Ahmet I established the madrasah in the first place. The restoration of the madrasah is conducted by Fatih Municipality with the support of Special Provincial Administration but it is assigned to Sultan Ahmet Mosque Protection and Rejuvenation Association.

The madrasah was built so as to host hadith lessons, therefore it will render service as a place where religious education is delivered again. The madrasah will be able to render service within a month with its renewed infrastructure and superstructure. After more than a century in the center of the old city, the The Ottoman Archives of the Prime Minister’s Office were relocated in 2013 to the Kağıthane district of Istanbul.

Reminding that the madrasah, which was used to be utilized as the storage room of Prime Ministry General Directorate of State Archive, is a part of Sultan Ahmet Complex; this structure complex consists of Sultan Ahmet Mosque, Hünkar Qasr, the shrine, darü'l-kurra sıbyan school, fountain, public fountains, hospital, poorhouse, bath and bazaar.

This madrasa recently been restored and is now used as part of the İstanbul Sultanahmet Waqf today.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : İstanbul Sultanahmet Waqf

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : iletisim@isva.org.tr
Phone : +90 212 518 1898
Fax : +90 212 381 6286

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

SOKULLU ŞEHİT MEHMET PASHA MADRASA

Eyüp - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°02'49.5"N 28°56'03.7"E / 41.047083, 28.934361

 photo sokullu_madrasa102.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Further up the street that leads back towards Eyüp Camii two classical türbes of great simplicity face one another. The one on the left is that of Sokullu Şehit Mehmet Paşa, it forms part of a small külliye. Elegant and well-proportioned, it is severely plain, but the interior contains some interesting stained glass, partly ancient and partly a modern imitation but very well done; alternate windows are predominantly blue and green.

Commissioned by Sokollu Şehit Mehmet Paşa in 1568-1569. This is a small complex that consists of a madrasa, a house for readers of the Quran (darül-kurra), a tomb, and a fountain, all surrounded by a courtyard wall. He is buried at his complex, tomb (türbe built) by famous architect Mimar Sinan for him c. 1572. His wife Ismihan (or Esma Han) is buried near him and in the little garden of the türbe are buried the family and descendants of Sokollu Mehmed Paşa.

Sinan designed two almost identical buildings: one is the türbe of Sokullu Mehmet Paşa, the other the dershane (lecture hall) of an adjoining small medrese; the two are linked by a short gallery, their doors face each other and are both decorated with ancient marbles green for the turbe and red for the dershane. Sinan has a different achievement of experience in this madrasa; as it is departed at the first glance to the plan. The longitude settlement composes an axis that directs the courtyard to the lecture hall and the lecture hall to the tomb by an eaved passage.

The cells are located on the longer sides and the lecture hall standts on the narrow side, facing the entrance side, on which also the latrines are located. Actually the complex is composed of the madrasa, the tomb, a school fo Qur'an recitation (Dar'ülkurra) and latrines. With ornamentation on the lecture hall door and colored inner glasses for the top windows, the madrasa has a rich appearance.

Sinan is mentioned to achieve considerable experimental success in this design.Today The Sokollu Mehmet Paşa Madrasa of Eyüp. As in the Darülkurra, Sokullu Mehmet Pasha had this madrasa dedicated to his wife. This building can be visited during work hours. The Madrasa building with its other properties, still keeps its authentic appearance.

Dominating the complex is the madrasa, which is aligned roughly north-south (northwest-southeast) and has a rectangular plan arranged on a seven by eleven modular grid. A five by eleven module portico encloses the courtyard on all sides; just outside of the portico, the long east and west wings of the madrasa house twenty-two cells, each with its own dome.

In this rectangular plan shape madrasah, there are 19 student rooms, 2 iwans and a entrance hall. The madrasah classroom is roofed with a dome whose diameter is 9,6 meter. The interior of the tomb, which is dated at same time as the madrasah, is decorated with verses on ceramic tiles.

The madrasa is entered from its northeasternmost cell, from a portal that faces east and leads to the northern wing of the madrasa portico. In the madrasa, nineteen of the twenty-two cells, which measure approximately three and a half meters on a side, are articulated as student rooms and are surmounted by domes with pendentives.

Entering through the doors facing the courtyard, each student has a stove niche near the door and three shelving niches on the side walls. The facade walls are articulated with two lower and one upper window. Two of the student cells are articulated as iwans, both on the west wing: one faces east and opens to the madrasa courtyard, and the other is the northwestern most cell, opening to the outside on the north.

There are also two larger independent cells, sitting outside of the madrasa rectangle just north and west of the northwesternmost cell, that are used as service rooms. The classroom is located to the north of the madrasa rectangle; varying from convention, it is not wrapped by smaller cells, but sits alone off the north end of the portico. It is entered through one of the opposing doors of the madrasa, which are placed in the middle of northern and southern walls.

The classroom is a square structure that is surmounted by a dome ornamented with stalactite carvings. The dome measures approximately nine and a half meters in diameter and sits on an octagonal drum. Featuring three windows on the west and east walls, the classroom is connected to the tomb on its north by an arched canopy, which is surmounted by eaves and carried over columns with stalactite capitals.

The cemetery is located on the east of this connecting canopy. On the other side of the madrasa, the door on the south leads to the toilets, which are arranged within a free standing rectangular structure that is rotated to the west of southwest and surmounted by a barrel vault. The tomb, standing on the north end of the complex, is an octagonal structure surmounted by a dome that directly sits on its walls.

It sits north of the madrasa classroom, and across the street from (to the south of) the mausolea of Siyavuş Paşa and Mirmiran Mehmet Paşa. On its exterior, with the exception of its south (entry) elevation, each face of the octagon is pierced with a casement and an arched window above it. On the interior, niches carved between the casements soften the corners of the octagon.

The tomb is the most ornamented structure in the complex. On the exterior, the voissoirs of the entrance portal and the lower windows are ornamented with green and white marble. The interior contains remarkable pencil work on the dome and tiled decoration with an inscription band that encircles the tomb.

The darül-kurra is a rectangular structure located east of the classroom. Commissioned in the name of Ismihan Sultan, the wife of Sokollu Mehmet Paşa, it is the only detached structure in the complex. It is entered through a single bay portico topped by a miniature dome on its north side. Two rectangular windows, topped by an arched one in the middle of the wall, appear on its east and west elevations.

According to the records, a restoration project was undertaken in 1962. The madrasa, whose portico was later glazed, now serves as a medical center, and the darül-kurra is a children's library. After a restoration during 1961-1962, the madrasa was converted into a health center and presently, the Sokollu Mehmet Paşa Madrasa of Eyüp, is used by the the Ministry of Health as a health center and clinic.

However, some changes took place in the interior as a result of this new function. One of the most visible that the portico of the madrasa is fitted with glass panes. Additionally the Darülkurra can be visited during work hours.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.