Showing posts with label snack food. Show all posts
Showing posts with label snack food. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

BÜYÜK ÇAMLICA HILL PARK AND RESTAURANT

Üsküdar - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°01'39.9"N 29°04'09.5"E / 41.027743, 29.069296

Buyuk Camlica Hill Park & Restaurant / Uskudar - Istanbul photo bcamlica_park123.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Çamlıca Hill (Turkish: Çamlıca Tepesi), aka Big Çamlıca Hill (Turkish: Büyük Çamlıca Tepesi) to differentiate from the nearby Little Çamlıca Hill (Turkish: Küçük Çamlıca Tepesi), is a hill in Üsküdar district of Istanbul, Turkey. Situated on the Asian part of the city at 268 m (879 ft) above sea level, Çamlıca Hill has a panoramic view of the southern part of Bosphorus and the mouth of Golden Horn.

The hill is a popular visitor attraction. There is historical-designed teahouses, cafes and a restaurant inside a public park with monumental trees, flower gardens and fountains, run by the Metropolitan Municipality. In many poems and works of literature, Istanbul is known for its seven hills, Çamlıca is the tallest of the seven. Çamlıca Hill, which is also mentioned in many songs, is located in Üsküdar. The most beautiful sunsets in the entire city can be viewed from this hill.

In addition to the hill’s famous views, it is also home to many cafes, where you can get your fill of the unique pleasure that narghile offers. Often, newly-married couples make trips to Çamlıca Hill after their ceremony, further adding to the lively atmosphere on the hill.

Çamlıca got its name from the pine trees in the area (Çam means Pine in Turkish). First settlers turned the entire region into a pine forest, which survived not only the Roman period but also the Byzantines. In ancient times both Camlica hills were covered with pine trees so thick that no sunlight could shine through them. There were also wildflowers in all colors and poppies.

Ottoman Sultans had a high interest on Çamlıca. Sultan Murat IV ordered to build the first Summer residence here. Sultan Mehmet IV, who was given the nickname "Hunter", built a hunting lodge. The area of the spring water in Büyük Çamlıca was also upgraded during his reign. During the reign of Sultan Selim III, Çamlıca became a recreational place, together with the enjoyments in the Bosphorus and Kagithane.

During the Ottoman period, Çamlıca Hill and some other hills in Istanbul were also used for training birds of prey, such as hawk, falcon and peregrine. Ivaz Fakih, whose grave is in Çamlıca, was a religious person and a peregrine breeder during that time and the hill was handed to him as Peregrine Grooming Place for the first time, and later to Doğancıbaşı's and Şahincibaşı's, heads of falcon and hawk breeders.

The German emperor Wilhelm II has strolled and admired Çamlıca during his visit to Istanbul by the end of 1800's. He asked Çamlıca Hill from Ottoman Sultan Abdulhamit II for raising a monument here, but Sultan Abdulhamit kindly refused him telling as an excuse the existence of the tomb of Ivaz Fakih, who is admired by the Turks. After this refusal, Keiser Wilhelm II has ordered to build the German Fountain in the Sultanahmet Square as a gift to the sultan.

Çamlıca has also an important place in Turkish literature. Many poets and authors of the Administrative Reforms (Tanzimat) age, and also other literature figures who lived in later years have mentioned Çamlıca in their works.

Located in Çamlıca, one of the most important recreation areas facing across the Bosphorus and Marmara Sea, the Çamlıca Social Facility can accommodate 1,470 people in total with its outdoor space of 3,000 m2 and restaurant section of 400 m2.

Today, With its traditional snack "Gozleme", ice cream and corn on the cob, with its kiosks, fountains, tea and coffee shops and restaurants operated by the Metropolitan Municipality of Istanbul, surrounded by historic trees, great flora, colorful flowers and tulips, and with a cool breeze, Çamlıca attracts many local and foreign visitors enjoying the magnificent panorama of the Bosphorus and the city.

The hill is also one of the best locations in Istanbul where the migrating birds can be observed. Bird-watchers from all around the world come here especially in September and October or in the Spring time to watch the birds.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Büyük Çamlıca Restaurants

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : dugun@beltur.com.tr
Phone : +90 216 444 6644 / +90 216 428 4696
Fax : +90 216 413 9699

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

KÜÇÜK ÇAMLICA HILL PARK AND RESTAURANT

Üsküdar - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°00'59.1"N 29°03'49.8"E / 41.016427, 29.063839

Kucuk Camlica Hill Park & Restaurant / Uskudar photo kcamlica_park140.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Small Çamlıca pavilions consist of 4 pavilions. Sofa, Cihannuma, Su and Topkapı, and have the widest panoramic view covering all landscape from Marmara Sea to Princess Islands and from Bosphorus to Topkapı Palace.

Çamlıca got its name from the pine trees in the area (Çam means Pine in Turkish). First settlers turned the entire region into a pine forest, which survived not only the Roman period but also the Byzantines. In ancient times both Camlica hills were covered with pine trees so thick that no sunlight could shine through them. There were also wildflowers in all colors and poppies.

Ottoman Sultans had a high interest on Çamlıca. Sultan Murat IV ordered to build the first Summer residence here. Sultan Mehmet IV, who was given the nickname "Hunter", built a hunting lodge. The area of the spring water in Büyük Çamlıca was also upgraded during his reign. During the reign of Sultan Selim III, Çamlıca became a recreational place, together with the enjoyments in the Bosphorus and Kağıthane.

During the Ottoman period, Çamlıca Hill and some other hills in Istanbul were also used for training birds of prey, such as hawk, falcon and peregrine. Ivaz Fakih, whose grave is in Çamlıca, was a religious person and a peregrine breeder during that time and the hill was handed to him as Peregrine Grooming Place for the first time, and later to Doğancıbaşı's and Şahincibaşı's, heads of falcon and hawk breeders.

The Sofa, Cihannüma, Topkapı and Su pavilions, all of which demonstrate the elegance and detail of Ottoman architecture, are all located within the Küçük Çamlıca Woods. If you want to give yourself the gift of a brunch, while taking in the incomparable views of the Bosphorus during your trip to Istanbul, the establishments located in these pavilions will surely satisfy you with their diverse breakfast menus.

At these pavilions, you will find a wide variety of food, along with hot and cold drinks. Here you can either taste eating in such a pure place with distinctive manuals or organize your private invitations.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Küçük Çamlıca Restaurants

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : dugun@beltur.com.tr
Phone : +90 216 444 6644 / +90 216 428 4696
Fax : +90 216 413 9699

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

MASLAK PAVILION

Maslak, Sarıyer - Istanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°07'10.1"N 29°01'33.7"E / 41.119472, 29.026028

Malta Pavilion / Yildiz, Besiktas - Istanbul photo malta_pavilion173.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Facilities
Cafe (Located in the garden of the Palace), Toilettes (Located at the garden of the Palaces), Parking (Located at the entrance of the Palace)

The Maslak Pavilion is located on Büyükdere Street, at the intersection of Istinye and Tarabya. The hilltop site of these royal lodges overlooking the Bosphorus is between the districts of Levent and Ayazağa on the European shore. The Maslak Pavilion was used for hunting and as a resting place by Sultan Abdülhamid II who learned how to become the new Sultan of the Ottoman Empire in this pavilion.

HISTORY
Sultan Mahmud II (1808-1839) first had a pavilion constructed here, and Sultan Abdülhamid II (1876-1909) lived in the later pavilion as a young man. Exactly when the royal lodges were constructed and by whom is unknown, but most can be roughly dated to the reign of Sultan Abdülaziz (1861-1876).

ARCHITECTURE AND INTERIOR DESING

Set in a wooded park with an area of 170,000 square meters, the Maslak Royal Lodges consist of the main Kasr-ı Hümayün (imperial kiosk), the Mabeyn-i Hümayün (imperial court) with its adjoining Conservatory, the Çadır Köşk and Paşalar Dairesi. Commanding a magnificent view over the Bosphorus strait and set amongst green woodland, the kasırs are outstanding examples of late 19th century Ottoman architecture.

Compared to other pavilions of the Ottomans, it has a simple structure in that only the sultan's signature has been is used to decorate the different sections of the pavilion. Sultan Abdülhamid II had his study and bedroom in the Kasr-ı Hümayün, and it was here that he was informed of his accession to the Ottoman throne.

Kasr-i Hümayun
The Kasr-i Hümayun (imperial kiosk) contains the bedroom and working room of Sultan Abdülhamit II. It is a two story structure that has a basement and and attic with a view of the sea. On both sides of the entry, there are columns on which the balcony is placed. The ceilings of all the rooms and the walls of the hall are decorated with engraved pictures.

Mabeyn-i Hümayun
The Mabeyn-i Hümayun (imperial court) was the private flat of the sultan, and consists of a single storey made of stone. There are invaluable plants, camellias, ferns, and banana trees in the lemon mansion. There is also a beautiful greenhouse located in the middle of the lemon mansion.

Çadır Kiosk
The Çadır Kiosk is a fancy two story structure in the shape of an octagon. It has wide valances on the roof, a balcony ringing the kiosk, and is built out of wood.

Paşalar Dairesi
Paşalar Dairesi (General's room): It is a beautiful structure made of stone with a single storey and has a Turkish bath in the building.

MUSEUM

Today, Kasr-ı Hümayun has been restored in the light of the documents, memoirs and old photographs and opened to the visits as a museum-palace in 1986. Mabeyn-i Hümayun and its annexes Limonluk and Çadır Kiosk and its garden have similarly been handled and restored and transformed into cafeterias where visitors may take a rest.

The camellias in the Limonluk, which especially bloom during the winter months, are the oldest examples of their kinds in the city. The gardens of the Maslak Pavilions can be allocated to national or international receptions.

Maslak Royal Lodges Cafe give the chance to rest within historic environments with cold-hot drinks, snack food and breakfast services in Maslak Pavilion.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Department of National Palaces / Maslak Pavillion

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : millisaraylar@tbmm.gov.tr
Phone : +90 212 236 9000
Fax : +90 212 259 3292

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

KÜÇÜKSU PAVILION

Anadolu Hisarı, Beykoz -  Istanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°04'43.0"N 29°03'54.0"E / 41.078611, 29.065000

Kucuksu Pavilion / Beykoz - Istanbul photo kucuksu_pavilion139.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Küçüksu Palace or Küçüksu Pavilion, aka Göksu Pavilion, (Küçüksu Kasrı) is a summer palace in Istanbul, Turkey, situated in the Küçüksu neighborhood of Beykoz district on the Asian shore of the Bosphorus between Anadoluhisarı and the Fatih Sultan Mehmet Bridge. The tiny palace was used by Ottoman sultans for short stays during country excursions and hunting.

The green area between Göksu and Küçüksu rivers rising .on the slopes of Alemdağ and flowing into Bosphorus near Anadoluhisarı was one of the imperial gardens of sultans and became one of the most favourite promenade in time. Evliya Celebi, the famous traveller of 17th century described Göksu as a "river like adam’s ale" where people used to go boating, a peaceful area surrounded with rose gardens, small mansions and imperial mills.

Sultan Murad IV (1623-1640) ordered to landscape Küçüksu and its environs covered with dense cypress trees up to Kandilli and named the area as "Silver Cypress". The first construction in the imperial garden began during the reign of Sultan Mahmud I (1730-1754). His Grand Vizier Divitdar Emin Mehmed Pasha ordered to built a timber pavilion for Sultan between the years 1751-1752 who used to go there to hunt and target practice.

During the reign of Sultan Selim III (1789-1807) this two-storeyed building by the sea side was restored and in 1806 he ordered to built a fountain there for his beloved mother Mihrişah Valide Sultan. The pavilion which was also used during the period of Sultan Mahmud II (1808-1839) was demolished by the order of Sultan Abdülmecid (1839-1861) and Küçüksu Pavilion was built there between the years 1856-1857.

Its facade decoration was restored and enriched during the reign of Sultan Abdülaziz (1861-1876). The pavilion which was also one of the most popular places for Atatürk in Republican period was opened to public as a museum in 1996.

Küçüksu Pavilion was designed by Nikoğos Balyan and completed in 1857. The pavilion has a ground area of 15 x 27 meters and consists of a basement and two main storeys, the basement containing a larder, kitchen and servants' quarters. Both first and second floors have four corner rooms opening onto a central gallery, a plan which reflects that of the traditional Turkish house.

The pavilion was designed for short stays when the sultan took country excursions or went hunting in the woodland here. Unlike other imperial buildings Küçüksu was not surrounded by high walls but by castiron railings with gates on all four sides. During the reign of Sultan Abdülmecid's younger brother Sultan Abdülaziz (1861-1876) more elaborate decoration was added to the façade. All the outbuildings which once belonged to the pavilion have since been demolished.

The ornate seaward façade and double flight of steps sweeping exuberantly around the ornamental pool and fountain are decorated with diverse western motifs. This European exterior is echoed in the interior furnishing and decoration executed by Sechan, stage designer at Vienna Opera House.

The ceilings are richly decorated with carton-pierre moulding and painted designs. There are so many fireplaces made of Italian marble of various colours in diverse styles, that Küçüksu is like a museum of 19th century fireplace design. The elegant parquet floors have different patterns in each of the rooms, which are furnished with European style furniture, carpets and paintings.

The pavillion is garnished with rococo ornaments which added a fresh complexion to the pavilion with perfect external engraving. Sultan Selim III dedicated the Baroque style fountain to his mother, Valide Mihrişah Sultan, in 1807. The fountain and the pool in the garden are well integrated with the Küçüksu Pavilion. The pavilion was late returned into a museum showcasing carvings, crystal chandelers, carpets, and the the fireplace. All these give an intense visionary pleasure for visitors.

The building consists of two main stories and a basement on a footprint of 15 x 27 m. Unlike other palace gardens with high walls; its garden is surrounded by cast iron railings with one gate at each of the four sides. The basement was appointed with kitchen, larder, and servant's quarters, with the floors above reflecting the design of a traditional Turkish house - four corner rooms surrounding a central hall.

The rooms at the waterfront have two fireplaces while the others have one each, all fashioned from colorful Italian marble. The rooms boast crystal chandeliers from Bohemia, with curtains, furniture upholstery, and carpets woven in Hereke. The halls and the rooms exhibit paintings and arts objects; Sechan, stage designer at Vienna State Opera, was charged for the decoration of the interior.

After the establishment of the Turkish Republic, Küçüksu Pavilion was used as a state guest house for some years, but today is open to the public as a museum-palace. The pavilion was extensively restored in 1994 and the surrounding garden and parkland, nearby fountain and quay are now being transformed into a park where the public can enjoy picnics and excursions as in previous centuries. When this project is completed, the garden of Küçüksu Pavilion will be available for private receptions upon application.

Küçüksu Pavilion give the chance to rest within historic environments with cold-hot drinks, snack food and breakfast services. There is a cafeteria in the courtyard where you can sit and enjoy the ships passing while sipping your Turkish tea or Turkish coffee.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Department of National Palaces / Küçüksu Pavilion

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : millisaraylar@tbmm.gov.tr
Phone : +90 212 236 9000
Fax : +90 212 259 3292

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.