Showing posts with label beylerbeyi. Show all posts
Showing posts with label beylerbeyi. Show all posts

Sunday, May 13, 2018

BEYLERBEYİ MOSQUE

Beylerbeyi, Üsküdar - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°02'42.6"N 29°02'44.6"E / 41.045167, 29.045722



PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

Beylerbeyi Mosque (Hamidi Evvel Mosque) is located on the Anatolian shore of the Bosphorus next to the Beylerbeyi quay. The mosque was built by Sultan Abdülhamid I (1725-1789) in memory of his mother, Rabia Sultan, in the middle of the 18th century. The architect, Mehmed Tahir Ağa, started the construction in 1777 and completed it in 1778. Abdülhamid I and his son Mahmud II usually performed Friday Prayer in this mosque.

After the collapse of the Istavroz (Cross) Palace in the middle of the 18th century, which had previously been standing on the present site of the Beylerbeyi Mosque, the Beylerbeyi Mosque was built on the site of the Hırka-i Şerîf Chamber (private chamber of the cloak of the prophet Muhammad pbuh), which had been carried to Istavroz Palace by Sultan Ahmed I (1590 -1617).

The last prayer section of the Beylerbeyi Mosque was converted into its present state, the single minaret was pulled down, and instead of the previous single minaret, two new minarets were erected on both sides of the mosque during the period of Sultan Mahmud II (1784-1839). Additionally, Sultan Mahmud II added a muvakkithane (time-keeping room) as well as a fountain located on seaside of the complex.

The mosque is constructed in Baroque style, of cut stone. It is octagonal in shape with two minarets and 55 windows. There is just one dome with the area in front of the mosque niche covered with a half-dome. The interior is decorated with inscriptions and engravings. The mosque is covered with both Ottoman and European glazed tiles. It is a fine example of the meeting and merge of different cultures.

The ceiling of the central prayer area of the mosque, which has a size of 14.60 x 14.60 m, consists of one large dome and five half domes. The ceiling of the mosque containing the large dome was extraordinarily placed on two pulleys and  the circumscribed circle of the upper pulley with its twenty windows  illuminated the interior of the mosque. A sharp curve, round, curly S-shaped and C-shaped of four different arch samples were used in the mosque.

The last prayer section of the Beylerbeyi Mosque was converted into its present state, the single minaret was pulled down, and instead of the previous single minaret, two new minarets were erected on both sides of the mosque during the period of Sultan Mahmud II (1784-1839). During renovations conducted in 1810, a room for the mosque’s timekeeper (muvakkithane) and a fountain were added.

Sultan Mahmud II added a time-keeping room as well as a fountain. The ceiling of the central prayer area of the mosque has a size of 14.60 by 14.60 meter. The ceiling consists of one large dome and five half domes. The part of the mosque containing the large dome is extraordinarily placed on two cranks and twenty windows illuminate the interior of the mosque. The windows create a beautiful, sacred atmosphere.

Because of this unique feature, the mosque has become a popular landmark for tourists. There are two fountains on each side of the gate that opens on Yalıboyu Street. To the left of the entrance is a mounting block made of granite that was used by the Sultans. On the left there is a bathhouse. Across from the mosque there is a fountain that has two façades, one facing the sea and the other the street. It was built by Sultan Mahmud II in the memory of his father Sultan Abdülhamid I in 1811.

After the fires of 1969 and of March 13th 1983, the mosque was extensively restored twice. Damaged during a fire which broke out in the adjacent Ismail Pasha Residence in 1983, the mosque was renovated and opened again for service in the same year.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2018, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

BEYLERBEYİ PALACE KITCHEN

Beylerbeyi, Üsküdar - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°02'36.4"N 29°02'30.9"E / 41.043444, 29.041917



PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

The wooden kitchen building which was constructed during the era of Sultan Mahmud II, was used as the kitchen Beylerbeyi Palace. The original structure, which demonstrates the most beautiful examples of historical Turkish architecture, was used as a primary school for a long period, but got damaged during the time that it was not properly maintained.

SABANCI TECHNICAL INSTITUTE

In 1986, the building was rebuilt by the Sabanci Foundation according to its original shape and structure and it was turned over to the Ministry of National Education, who assigned it for use by the Continuation Institute.

Our school works on research in all fields, development and archival topics in addition to the educational activities, by the purpose of survival of traditional Turkish clothing and handicrafts, and to transfer them to future generations, and also applies them on clothing, accessories, gifts and other products with original designs. It also carries out the task of promoting Turkish culture in the country by the works and activities that was participated in.

Moreover, in our school there is a museum where some products belonging to the 18th and 19th centuries are found, and it is open to the visitors.

The branches or sections of our school educate qualified professional elements that gained the necessary professional qualifications according to the needs of the sector and scientific and technological developments. In order to increase the knowledge and skills of our students and educators and also to see the technology and innovations on –site and to ensure vision we wanted to be included in the EU Lifelong Learning Programme.

The Sabanci Technical Institute has a total area of 6,100 square meters and has a closed area of 2,600 square meters. The students study ways to reproduce and transfer traditional Turkish clothing and handicrafts onto new clothing and new generations while "maintaining its authenticity," allowing individuals who aspire to acquire a profession to become productive.

The Institute provides a fixed term education of 2 years within the sections of clothing, ready-made clothing, knit ready-made clothing, fashion design, embroidery, handicrafts, painting, ceramic, child development and education. Additionally, the Institute has manufacturing shops that manufacture ready-made or custom items in all sections.

The items made in the manufacturing shops of Sabanci Technical Institute are offered for sale. Not only custom-made clothing, embroidery, and accessories are made, but also orders for wholesale manufacture are accepted.

Institute has attended and continues to attend many fashion shows both within the country and abroad. Additionally, exhibitions and bazaars are organized at the Institute for promotional and marketing purposes.

There are 20 workshops that can be used for various studies, a computer laboratory, special rooms for design works, display and fashion show halls, administrative offices, and a museum section in the building. There is also a kindergarten operating within the school.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Beylerbeyi Sabancı Olgunlaşma Enstitüsü

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : sabanci@sabanciolgunlasma.k12.tr
Phone : +90 216 321 7795 / +90 216 422 6713
Fax : +90 216 321 7637

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2018, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Sunday, February 25, 2018

BOSPHORUS PALACE HOTEL

Beylerbeyi, Üsküdar - İstanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°02'41.8"N 29°02'47.3"E / 41.044934, 29.046466



PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

DEBRELİ İSMAİL PASHA MANSION

It was used as the Mansion of Debreli Ismail Pasha between 1876-1909. The mansion which burned in 1983, was faithfully rebuilt according to the present building survey and photographs and between 1993-1996 with the approval of the Ministry of Tourism " Mansion Tourism Investment and Management" and regained for tourism.

Debreli Ismail Pasha Mansion is one of the finest examples of neo-Ottoman architecture. Constituted on 1486 square meters of land, the building is 300 square meters. One side of the mansion, facing the garden, was used as haremlik (women's quarter), and the other side, facing the sea, was used as selamlık (men's quarter).

BOSPHORUS PALACE HOTEL

The hotel welcomes the guests with decorated Ottoman motifs and with gilded, notched elegant ceiling ornamentations, a crystal chandelier, original firmans and manuscripts of the Sultan, embraces them with the blue waters of the Bosphorus and hosts with personalized sense of hospitality.

The importance given to the smallest detail and comfort in each of the 14 private rooms of the mansion immediately greet the eye. As the ornamentations of the ceiling and the walls draw attention, the furniture are coated with 18-carat gold leaf handmade Italian and the bathrooms are decorated in English style.

By converting 200 year old boathouse on the sea floor of the mansion into the hotel restaurant, this special place was created, and it offers you the privilege of tasting a delicious selection of international cuisine in a highly luxurious and romantic atmosphere. The wedding organizations that are held at the Bosphorus Palace Hotel also offers wedding couples other special facilities.

From the moment you step into the hotel, you feel the privilege at every turn. On this special romantic day, you enjoy your cocktail and wedding meal with a quality sense of service and delicious menus and stay in a specially prepared room for free and benefit from the facilities of champagne and refreshments, the first romantic breakfast, turn down service to your room.

In addition, in order to make your special and important days unforgettable, weddings, parties, meetings and all kinds of receptions are held with many years of reliable experience by providing exceptional guest service and superior hospitality.

Whether business meetings and dinners or special invitations like wedding and engagement, you can stroll through the depths of history and experience this magical atmosphere at the first Mansion Hotel of Istanbul with your guests.

ROOMS
Standart Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Palace Rooms

ORGANIZATIONS
Meetings
Wedding - Engagement Ceremonies
Henna Night

DINING
Historical Boathouse Restaurant

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Bosphorus Palace Hotel

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : info@bosphoruspalace.com
Phone : +90 216 422 0003
Fax : +90 216 422 0012

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2018, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

15 JULY MARTYRS BRIDGE

Bosphorus, İstanbul - Turkey

 photo bosphorus_bridge112.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

The 15 July Martyrs Bridge, also called the First Bosphorus Bridge (Turkish: Boğaziçi Köprüsü or 1. Boğaziçi Köprüsü) is a bridge in Istanbul, Turkey spanning the Bosphorus strait (Turkish: Boğaziçi). The bridge is located between Ortaköy (European side) and Beylerbeyi (Asian side). It is a gravity anchored suspension bridge with steel pylons and inclined hangers.

The aerodynamic deck is hanging on zigzag steel cables. It is 1,510 m long with a deck width of 39 m. The distance between the towers (main span) is 1,074 m (World rank: 15th) and their height over road level is 105 m. The clearance of the bridge from sea level is 64 m. It was the 4th longest suspension bridge span in the world when completed in 1973, and the longest outside the United States of America.

History
The decision to build a bridge across the Bosphorus was taken in 1957 by Prime Minister Adnan Menderes. For the structural engineering work, a contract was signed with the British firm Freeman Fox and Partners in 1968. The bridge was designed by the famous British civil engineer Sir Gilbert Roberts who also designed the Humber Bridge, Severn Bridge, Forth Road Bridge, Auckland Harbour Bridge and the Volta River Bridge.

The construction started in February 1970, the ceremonies were attended by President Cevdet Sunay and Prime Minister Süleyman Demirel. The construction was carried out by the Turkish firm Enka Construction & Industry Co. along with the co-contractors Cleveland Bridge & Engineering Co. Ltd. (England) and Hochtief AG (Germany). 35 engineers and 400 men worked on the project.

It was completed on October 30, 1973, one day after the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Republic of Turkey, and opened by President Fahri Korutürk and Prime Minister Naim Talu. Ernest Frederick, a civil engineer working for the US government and stationed in Turkey at the time, was the first American to cross the bridge. American comedian and Ambassador for UNICEF Danny Kaye, dressed like a clown, followed him with a pack of Turkish children. As a huge crowd of people started to run after them, the bridge began to vibrate, and the crowd had to be held back to avoid any damage. The cost of the bridge amounted to USD 200 million.

Transportation
The highway bridge has a total width of eight lanes. Each direction has three lanes for vehicular traffic plus one emergency lane and one sidewalk. On weekday mornings, commuter traffic flows mostly westbound to the European part, so four of the six lanes run westbound and only two eastbound. Conversely, on weekday evenings, four lanes are dedicated to eastbound traffic and two lanes only to westbound. In the first four years, pedestrians could walk over the bridge, reaching it with elevators inside the towers on both sides.

No pedestrians or commercial vehicles like trucks are allowed to use the bridge today. Nowadays, around 180,000 vehicles pass daily in both directions, almost 85% being automobiles. On December 29, 1997, the one-billionth vehicle passed the bridge. Fully loaded, the bridge sags about 90 cm in the middle of the span.

Other uses
The Intercontinental Istanbul Eurasia Marathon, organized annually in October, starts from the Anatolian part of Istanbul, crosses the Bosphorus on the bridge and ends in the European part during which the bridge is closed to the vehicular traffic. Visitors to Istanbul in October can sign up for the 'fun run' at many points round the city and take the opportunity to cross the bridge by foot - many take picnics to enjoy the view. On a merrier point of view, it is a popular belief that a wish made while going under the bridge will come true.

Trivia
On May 15, 2005 at 7.00 local time, U.S. tennis star Venus Williams played a show game with Turkish standout İpek Şenoğlu on the bridge, the first tennis match ever to be played on two continents. The event was organized as a promotion ahead of the 2005 WTA’s Istanbul Cup and lasted five minutes only on the north side of the bridge. After the exhibition, they both threw a tennis ball into the Bosphorus.

On July 17, 2005 at 10:30 local time, British Formula One driver David Coulthard drove his Red Bull racing car on the bridge first from the European side to the Asian side, and then turning with a spectacular power slide at the toll plaza back to the European side for show. He parked his car in the garden of Dolmabahçe Palace where his ride had started.

During his ride to the Turkish Grand Prix at Istanbul Racing Circuit on August 21, 2005, David Coulthard was picked up by the automatic surveillance system and charged with a fine of 20 Euro when he passed through the toll booths without payment, as only the president, traffic police and emergency workers have the right to cross the bridge for nothing. His team accepted to pay for him. Since April 23, 2007, a fully computerized LED lighting system of changing colours illuminates the bridge at night.

On 15 July 2016, the bridge was blocked by a faction of the Turkish Armed Forces during a coup attempt.[19] The soldiers involved surrendered to police the next day. On 25 July 2016, prime minister Binali Yıldırım announced that the bridge would be renamed as the 15 Temmuz Şehitler Köprüsü (July 15 Martyrs Bridge).

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

BEYLERBEYİ PALACE

Beylerbeyi, Üsküdar - Istanbul - Turkey

GPS : 41°02'35.0"N 29°02'24.0"E / 41.043056, 29.040000

Beylerbeyi Palace / Uskudar - Istanbul photo beylerbeyi_palace135.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHS ALBUM

The Beylerbeyi Palace is located along the Anatolian coast of the Bosphorus at Beylerbeyi, north of Üsküdar. Beylerbeyi Palace was thought to serve as a summer residence of Ottoman sultans and a state guest house to entertain the foreign heads of state and sovereigns and it was constructed on demand of the sultan of the period, Sultan Abdülaziz (1861 - 1876). Construction of the palace was commenced on 6 August 1863 and it was formally opened to usage on 21 April 1865, Friday.

Serkiz Bey (Balyan), the Ebniye-i Şahane Serkalfa (head master builder of the Palace), carried out the construction organization. Mehmed Efendi, Mahmud Efendi and Rıfat Efendi performed the duty of construction official, which can also be thought as supervision of the financial and administrative affairs, of Beylerbeyi Palace. It is estimated that the palace costed about 500 thousands Ottoman liras. Beylerbeyi Palace, which is the main building of the building complex is a two-storey construction, made of stone, on a high basement.

HISTORY

On this imperial coastal estate that rests on the woody Çamlıca hills, a Byzantine settlement is known to have existed as early as the sixth century when Emperor Constantine II (578-582) erected a church with a golden cross (stavros) that gave the area its name. The terraced gardens at Istavroz, known as Istavroz Bahçesi, were a popular resort area for the royal family. The Sevkabad Pavilion, built by Ahmed III (1603-1617) atop the hill, was used frequently by his successors Murad IV (1623-1640) and Mehmed IV (1648-1687) who came to hunt here.

Restored and enlarged by Ahmed III (1703-1730) and Mahmud I (1730-1754), the garden complex consisted of tiled and domed pavilions around a pool, baths, prayer rooms and service structures. Ottoman dignitaries also built mansions here. The name Beylerbeyi, which was not adopted until later, is thought to refer to Mehmed Paşa, the governor-general (Beylerbeyi) of the Rumelian provinces, who built his coastal complex here during the rule of Murad III (1574-1595).

Sultan Mustafa III (1757-1774) demolished the estate and sold off its lands. These lands were subsequently acquired by Sultan Mahmud I (1808-1839) to erect a summer palace at the Istavroz Gardens. The Yellow Palace, designed by royal architect Krikor Amira Balyan, was completed between 1829 and 1832 and consisted of a main building with administrative and harem sections, kiosks, servants quarters, baths, kitchens, cisterns and stables.

This wooden palace, praised in the well-known travelers' accounts by Fieldmarshal Helmuth von Moltke and Miss Julie Pardoe, succumbed to fire in 1851 and its site was abandoned until 1864 when Sultan Abdülaziz (1861-1876) ordered the construction of a fireproof masonry palace.

Beylerbeyi Palace was used as a summer palace by Sultan Abdülaziz (1861-1876). During the reign of Sultan Abdülaziz ve Abdülhamid II, the palace acquired the characteristics of a state guest house beginning with its allocation to the foreign states’ sovereigns and presidents during their official visits. The first important guest, who was entertained at Beylerbeyi Palace, was Empress Eugenie of France. This visit of the Empress was a return visit of Sultan Abdülaziz’s visit to France in 1867.

The palace was generally reserved for summer use by the sultans or to accommodate foreign heads of state visiting the Ottoman capital. The Prince of Serbia, the King of Montenegro, the Şah of Iran and Empress Eugenie of France are among the royal guests who stayed here. Other foreign guests who were entertained at Beylerbeyi Palace during the reign of Sultan Abdülaziz were Joseph, the Emperor of Austria-Hungary (1869), Frédéric Guillaume Nicola Charles, the Crown Prince of Prussia (1869), The Crown Prince of Italia (1869) and Nasıreddin, the Şah of Iran (18 August 1873). During 33 years of reign of Sultan Abdülhamid II (1876-1909), Beylerbeyi Palace served as a museum which was especially visited by foreign state protocol.

The area of Beylerbeyi on the Asian shore of the Bosphorus has been settled since Byzantine times. According to the famous 18th century traveler İnciciyan, Constantine the Great erected a cross here, after which the area was known as the Istavroz Gardens. Under the Ottomans this area was an imperial park or "hasbahçe". İnciciyan relates that the name Beylerbeyi was given to this area in the 16th century because Mehmed Paşa who held the title of beylerbeyi (governor general) built a country house on the site.

During that period, also Dolmabahçe Palace and Imperial Treasury of Topkapı Palace were used as Imperial museums which would have been visited with prior permission of the Sultan. Sultan Abdülhamit II, soon after his dethronement, was subjected to compulsory residence at Salonica Alatini Kiosk. However about 3 years later, due to eruption of Balkan War, he was taken to Istanbul. New compulsory residence, chosen for Sultan Abdülhamid II, was Beylerbeyi Palace. Former Sultan spent his last six years there and departed from life on 10 February 1918 at this palace.

Foreign state guests were entertained at Beylerbeyi Palace during the Period of Republic. Pehlevi, the Şah of Iran who visited Turkey in 1934, was entertained at this palace by Gazi Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. Balkan Games Festival was organized at Beylerbeyi Palace in 1936. Mustafa Kemal Atatürk spent that night at the historical bedroom of Beylerbeyi Palace.

ARCHITECTURE

The new summer palace, called Beylerbeyi, is designed by head architect Sarkis Balyan (1835-1899) and his brother Agop Balyan (1838-1875) in French neo-baroque style with a traditional Ottoman plan. It has a rectangular plan with the long side facing the water and consists of six halls and twenty-four rooms on two floors raised on a service basement. The six halls, three on each floor, are lined up along the longitudinal axis from southwest to northeast.

The building was constructed on a land of about 2,500 square meters sits on a rectangular floor area. The South side of the Palace was organized as Imperial Mabeyn and The North side as Valide Sultan’s Apartment. There are total 6 halls, 24 rooms, 1 hamam and 1 bathroom at two storeys. Beylerbeyi Palace, which was constructed as a mixture of Western and Eastern styles, has the layout characteristics of traditional Turkish House with Harem and Mabeyn Sections. The roof of the construction was surrounded with a blaustrade hiding all edges.

The palace has a plan composition based on a central sofa (hall) design with iwans. The schema of Beylerbeyi Palace consists of three parts: Imperial Mabeyn, Bedroom Apartment (Sultan’s Apartment) and Valide Sultan’s Apartment. The main Harem section, next to the Valide Sultan’s (sultan’s mother) Apartment and constructed in parallel with the sea, which belongs to kadinefendi (sultan’s wives) and the favourites, was constructed apart from the main building and it was not be able to survive until today.

Round cascading steps in front of the mabeyn lead into the entrance hall (giriş holü), which has a double set of stairs at its rear end that give access to the reception hall above. Both halls are lit with iwans facing the mabeyn gardens to the southwest. The reception hall, also known as the Hall with Mother-of-Pearl, is adjoined by an audience room with luxurious wood paneling known as the Wooden Room (Ahşap Oda) on the seaside and a dining room on the landward side.

A corridor to the left of the mabeyn entrance hall leads into the Hall with Pool (Havuzlu Salon), named after a large oval pool at its center. The Hall with Pool, together with the Blue Hall (Mavi Salon) above it, occupies the center of the building, linking mabeyn with harem. Facing both the sea in front and the land wall behind, the two halls are linked by a double staircase with a skylight on the harem side. The Blue Hall, which is also known as the Ceremonial Hall, is named after its sixteen blue columns with orientalist capitals separating the central space from its iwans and aisles. Its roof is raised on sixteen arched windows that illuminate the hall from above.

The Hall with Pool and some of its corner rooms, as well as some rooms adjoining the Blue Hall have naval scenes painted on their ceilings featuring Ottoman ships; the Admiral Room (Kaptan Paşa Odası) on the ground floor also has furnishings based on the naval theme. Much of the furniture used in the palace was brought from Europe, including crystal chandeliers from Bohemia and vases from Sevres; a wide collection of Chinese and Japanese vases is also displayed in the palace.

The facade of Imperial Mabeyn exhibits a design in which Neo-baroque style is more evident. Indoor arrangements of the Palace, like its mass and faces, are shaped with an eclectic understanding. Owing to the sea passion of Sultan Abdulaziz, who constructed Beylerbeyi Palace, sea and ship themes were drawn in some frames and cartridges on the ceiling of the Palace; moreover, Sultan Abdulaziz drew some patterns including sea and ship themes in order to give an idea to the painters.

Many of the palace service structures, such as the kitchens, have not survived. Sections of the larger gardens, including the deer woods, were given to nearby schools while some small structures once found in the gardens have not survived: the Sultan's or Hünkar Kiosk (Hünkar Köşkü), the music pavilion (Muzika Dairesi), the deer house (Geyiklik), the lion house (Aslanhane), the dove cote (Güvercinlik) and the bird pavilion (Büyük Kuşluk). The palace baths up the hill have been demolished to make way for road expansion.

Today, the remaining palace buildings stand in the shadow of the cross-continental Bosphorus Bridge built in 1974; the supports for the colossal suspension bridge are situated immediately below the stables. The palace complex is flanked by the dormitories of the guards (Hamlacılar Kışlası) and the military barracks and soup kitchens built by Sultan Abdülhamid I (1774-1789) down the Bosphorus, and an old residential neighborhood is found to its north.

INTERIOR DESIGN

The interior decoration, guided by painter Migirdic Civanyan, reflects nineteenth century Ottoman eclecticism, which is a creative amalgam of Western neo-classical styles and traditional Ottoman elements such as the muqarnas, Bursa arch, interlaced arabesques and calligraphic forms. The floors, where not paved with parquet, are covered with straw mats from Egypt over which Hereke carpets are laid. The palace was illuminated by gasworks while no provisions were made for heating during the colder months.

The interior design of Beylerbeyi Palace is a synthesis of diverse western and eastern styles, although the layout of the rooms follows that of the traditional Turkish house, consisting of a central sofa with closed rooms situated at the four corners. The furnishing and decoration of the Selamlık or public apartments are more ornate than those of the Harem. Corridors from the two central halls lead into the living quarters or the harem, which is smaller than the mabeyn and simpler in decoration. It consists of rooms clustered around two small halls, the entrance hall and a central hall above, that are linked with a double-staircase.

Some of the rooms appear today as Sultan Abdülhamid II (1876-1908) used them while under house arrest from 1912 until his death in 1918, with furniture bearing his monogram or initials. Empress Eugenie of France (1853-1870), during her visit to Istanbul in 1869, stayed at the Beylerbeyi harem; Emperor Joseph of Austro-Hungary, Shah Nasireddin of Iran, Prince Nicholas of Montenegro and Crown Prince Oscar of Sweden were also hosted at this palace.

The palace consists of two main storeys and a basement containing kitchens and store rooms. The palace has three entrances, six state rooms and 26 smaller rooms. The floors are covered with rush matting from Egypt which protected the inhabitants against damp in winter and heat in summer. Over this are laid large carpets and kilims, mostly made at Hereke. The furnishings include exquisite Bohemian crystal chandeliers, French clocks, and Chinese, Japanese, French and Turkish Yıldız porcelain vases.

State functions are held in the state apartments (or mabeyn) entered from the southwest, whereas the two halls to the northeast with their surrounding rooms constitute the living quarters or harem, entered from the opposite end of the palace. Both sections are preceded by shady gardens with pine, red-leaf beech, and magnolia trees planted around large oval pools. Although a uniform and symmetrical look has been maintained for the waterfront, a tall wall is used to separate the two gardens behind the palace.

KIOSKS

A wall close to human height separates the palace and its gardens from the quay. Two sea gates rise above the walls near the mabeyn and harem entrances. Further out, located midway into the garden on each side is a small sea kiosk (Yalı Köşkü) with a tent-like roof. The kiosks are entered from the gardens through a portico and make octagonal projections onto the quay. Behind, the palace and its gardens are protected by a tall land wall, which becomes a retaining wall for terraced gardens behind the mabeyn.

Sea Kiosks
Two Sea Kiosks were built as double, one belonging to Mabeyn and the other to Valide Sultan (Harem); the kiosks have the appearance of a garden pergola. The kiosks, which are one of the most interesting design examples of the new palace were identified in the archives by the names, pointing out the originality of the design, as Çadır Köşkleri (Tent Kiosks), Nevresm (new design, new model). Octagonal covers of the kiosks are decorated with different animal figures.

Marble (Serdab) Kiosk
The Serdab or sunken kiosk (Serdab Köşkü), also known as marble kiosk (Mermer Köşk), is a three-room marble structure partially buried into the retaining wall of the terrace above. With views out to the pool in front and the Bosphorus beyond, the kiosk is designed to provide solace from the summer heat; a central fountain, linked with channels to two wall fountains at either end of the main room, humidifies and cools the marble interior.

Marble Kiosk is one of the buildings from the period of Sultan Mahmud II, which survived until today. It was given this name due to its marble covered surfaces. As we learn from the references of the period another names of the kiosk are Serdab and Mahmud Kiosk. It was given the name Serdáb since it is buried into the fourth terrace behind the pool.

Yellow Kiosk
Yellow Kiosk, which is located on the fourth terrace garden of Beylerbeyi Palace, considering with the area it is located on, may be thought to be used for resting purposes. It is on the northeast of the land of the palace, on the fourth terrace. Located at the same level to the east of the pool is the Sari or yellow kiosk, a two-story structure with a basement, oriented to views of the lower Bosphorus and the Çamlıca hills above.

Ahır (Stable) Kiosk
It is located on the last terrace of the Palace’s garden, slightly farther from the Marble Kiosk. It has some characteristics reflecting the attitude of Ottoman towards horse culture. In its entrance, there are figures of horses and other animals on the ceiling. Stable section consists of total 20 divisions on both sides. There are reliefs with horse head and eye figures on the chandeliers and other elements.

The stables (Ahır Köşkü), the only remaining equestrian structure in an Ottoman palace, is a long rectangular building with an octagonal entrance hall projecting outward at the center. Entered through a broad pair of glass doors, the entrance hall leads into the brick-paved main space with a small marble pool and twenty stalls. Paintings of horses decorate the ceilings of the kiosk entrance hall whose arched windows resemble horseshoes.

GARDENS

Terrace Gardens
Beylerbeyi Palace is also an important artifact in terms of its location within the landscape and is one of the most distinguished examples of coast palaces. Beylerbeyi Palace, which is located at the Anatolian side of Bosphorus at Üsküdar district is in a large garden. The garden of Beylerbeyi Palace has the appearance of a rich coppice forest with terrace gardens at the back.

The garden terraces were originally built by Mahmud II in 1830. The five main terraces of varied width are divided into seven different levels in places and rise up to 35 meters above sea level. The forth terrace has a large pool overlooked by the Serdab and Sarı Kiosks, the pool and the Serdab Kiosk were built by Sultan Mahmud II. Stairs and ramps, as seen today, were added by Sultan Abdülaziz who also reorganized the gardens in naturalist style.

Of the two gates that serve the palace on the landward side, one opens into a tunnel built earlier by Mahmud I that, passing underneath the garden terrace, exits out to the southwest end of the mabeyn gardens. Here, a ramp climbs alongside a tall wall separating the palace from the service and military structures and gives access to the first, second and third terraces to the left and the stables midway to the right.

One of the features which distinguishes Beylerbeyi from other Ottoman palaces of the period are the terraced gardens on the sloping hillside behind the palace. There are two pavilions on these terraces, the Sarı Köşk beside the pool on the upper terrace, and the Mermer Köşk with its interior fountain and marble walls, which provided a cool refuge in the summer heat. The Mermer Köşk, the large pool on the lower terrace and the tunnel are the only parts of the palace remaining from the earlier timber palace of Beylerbeyi. The attractive Ahır Köşk is a fascinating example of Ottoman palace stables, and of particular interest as the only such building to have survived in its original state.

The old coastal road passed under a long tunnel constructed during the reign of Sultan Mahmud II (1808-1839) so that the palace would not be separated from the terraced gardens behind. This is a unique feature, other palaces and mansions along the Bosphorus being connected to their back gardens and parks by bridges. Today this tunnel houses a cafeteria and sales points for visitors. As well as books, postcards and posters published by the Culture and Information Centre, various gifts and souvenirs are on sale here. The gardens are available for private receptions upon advance application.

LOCATION SATELLITE MAP



WEB SITE : Department of National Palaces / Beylerbeyi Palace

MORE INFO & CONTACT
E-Mail : millisaraylar@tbmm.gov.tr
Phone : +90 212 236 9000
Fax : +90 212 259 3292

These scripts and photographs are registered under © Copyright 2017, respected writers and photographers from the internet. All Rights Reserved.